## MEETING MINUTES OF INDEPENDENT CITIZENS' BOND OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE STATE CENTER COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT October 27, 2016

- Call to Order A regular meeting of the Independent Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee of the State Center Community College District was called to order by Chair Don Larson at 5:36 p.m., October 27, 2016, District Office Board Room, 1525 E. Weldon Avenue, Fresno, California. A quorum was present.
- Members Present Don Larson (Chair), Debbie Darden, Jan DeWoody, Juan Arambula, Mike McNally, and Rene Nuñez.
- Members Absent David Mendoza, Donald Slade, and Zhuam Navarro

Other Attendees Dr. Paul Parnell, Chancellor, SCCCD Lucy Ruiz, Director of Public & Legislative Relations, SCCCD Ed Eng, Vice Chancellor, Finance & Administration, SCCCD Christine Miktarian, Assoc. Vice Chancellor, Business & Operations, SCCCD Wil Schofield, Director of Finance Nic Heuer, Bond Counsel, Stradling Yocca Carlson & Rauth Jeff Jensen, CPA, Crowe Horwath

Brina Harwood, Recorder, SCCCD

Guests: Randy Vogt, Director of Purchasing, SCCCD Cheryl Sullivan, V.P. of Administrative Services, FCC

Introductions Introductions were made.

Public Comment No public comment reported.

Chancellor'sDr. Paul Parnell welcomed committee members and<br/>thanked them for their participation on the committee.

Appointment ofMr.Vice ChairvotActionwei

Mr. Larson explained that a vice chair would be selected by vote and asked for nominations. The following nominations were made.

Mr. Rene Nuñez nominated himself.

A motion was made by Mr. McNally and seconded by Ms. Darden to appoint Mr. Rene Nuñez as vice chair.

Mr. Lawson explained that in accordance with the Bylaws

The motion passed as follows:

Ayes	6
Noes	0
Abstain	0

Terms of

adopted by the Board of Trustees on July 5, 2016, Section Committee 5.4 states that the committee will draw lots to select a Members No Action minimum of two members to serve an initial one-year term with the remaining members to serve initial two-year terms, excepting the student member who serves one-year terms. The lots were drawn as follows: Don Larson 1 year David Mendoza 1 year Debbie Darden 2 years Donald Slade 2 years 2 years Jan DeWoody Juan Arambula 1 year Mike McNally 2 years Rene Nuñez 1 year Zhuam Navarro (Student) 1 year Presentations -A. Mr. Nic Heuer, as representative of the district's bond counsel, Stradling Yocca Carlson & Rauth, presented Information Only historical information regarding school finances and No Action general obligation bonds. Mr. Heuer also reviewed the Bylaws as well as the committees' duties and authorized activities. B. Mr. Jeff Jensen, as representative of the district's audit firm, Crowe Horwath, presented a review of the financial and performance audit requirements under the law. C. Associate Vice Chancellor of Business and Operations Ms. Christine Miktarian presented a review of bond projects; progress to date; and expected future progress, including, project manager's role and the project development process. D. Director of Public & Legislative Relations Lucy Ruiz presented a review of the communication process, including what information will be communicated and how that information will be communicated. Establish Next The next meeting will be scheduled sometime during the Meeting Date first quarter of the calendar year 2017. Notification of the

meeting will occur at a later date.

Adjournment A motion was made by Mr. Arambula and seconded by Ms. Darden to adjourn the meeting at 6:25 p.m. All ayes. Motion carried.

:bh

Approved: